Arrow right icon Turn the tide flag icon Change the game bullhorn icon Tip the balance scale icon
VA@2x.jpg

Virginia

The lines have been drawn in Virginia. After gerrymandering voting maps in 2011, the GOP spent years entrenching its power while undermining the will of the people. But in 2019, the Flippable and Swing Left community came together to help our candidates flip the House of Delegates and State Senate blue. Now, Democrats can pass pro-democracy policies in 2020 and draw fair maps in 2021.


How We Got Here

2011

After receiving census data, the split Virginia General Assembly draws new legislative and congressional maps. The House of Delegates map packs black voters into 12 majority-black districts, and the congressional map packs black voters into Congressional District 3.

2013

The General Assembly, flipped by the GOP in November 2011, passes a strict voter ID law. The law—along with early registration deadlines and the absence of in-person early voting—will make Virginia the second-hardest state to vote in.

2014

A panel of federal judges declares Virginia’s congressional map unconstitutional due to racial gerrymandering. The Virginia GOP appeals the ruling to the Supreme Court.

2015

A court-appointed expert draws a new congressional map.

2016

The federal court approves the new map—and the Supreme Court rejects the Virginia GOP’s appeal.

2017

Democrats break the GOP’s supermajority in the House of Delegates by flipping 15 seats, with 5 seats going to Flippable alums. The GOP’s majority shrinks from 66-34 to 51-49.

2018

A federal court rules that 11 House of Delegates districts are racially gerrymandered. The court orders a new map. The Virginia GOP appeals the case, and the Supreme Court agrees to hear it in 2019.

2019

A federal court approves the new House map drawn by a court-appointed expert and orders its adoption before the November election. With new, fair maps, Democrats take control of both the House of Delegates and State Senate.


Meet Our Candidates

Passionate progressive leaders are the key to building a pro-democracy majority in the Virginia General Assembly. We were honored to support these 20 State House and State Senate candidates as they ran to flip Virginia blue!


Turpin@2x.png
SD-7: LOST

Delegate Cheryl Turpin lost to GOP candidate Jen Kiggans.

Smasal@2x.png
SD-8: LOST

Missy Cotter Smasal lost to GOP incumbent Senator Bill DeSteph.

Hashmi@2x.png
SD-10: FLIPPED

Senator-elect Ghazala Hashmi defeated GOP incumbent Senator Glen Sturtevant.

Rodman@2x.png
SD-12: LOST

Delegate Debra Rodman lost to GOP incumbent Senator Siobhan Dunnavant.

Bell@2x.png
SD-13: FLIPPED

Senator-elect John Bell defeated GOP candidate Geary Higgins.

Gooditis@2x.png
HD-10: HELD

Delegate Wendy Gooditis defeated GOP candidate Randy Minchew.

Fowler@2x.png
HD-21: HELD

Delegate Kelly Convirs-Fowler defeated GOP candidate Shannon Kane.

Barnett@2x.png
HD-27: LOST

Democrat Larry Barnett lost to GOP incumbent Roxann Robinson by just 194 votes.

Cole@2x.png
HD-28: FLIPPED

Delegate-elect Joshua Cole defeated GOP candidate Paul Milde.

Helmer@2x.png
HD-40: FLIPPED

Delegate-elect Dan Helmer defeated GOP incumbent Delegate Tim Hugo.

Bynum_Coleman@2x.png
HD-66: LOST

Sheila Bynum-Coleman lost to GOP Speaker of the House Kirk Cox.

Adams@2x.png
HD-68: HELD

Delegate Dawn Adams defeated GOP candidate Garrison Coward.

VanValenburg@2x.png
HD-72: HELD

Delegate Schuyler VanValkenburg defeated GOP candidate GayDonna Vandergriff.

Willett@2x.png
HD-73: HELD

Delegate-elect Rodney Willett defeated GOP candidate Mary Margaret Kastelberg.

Jenkins@2x.png
HD-76: FLIPPED

Delegate-elect Clint Jenkins defeated GOP incumbent Delegate Chris Jones.

Guy@2x.png
HD-83: FLIPPED

Delegate-elect Nancy Guy defeated GOP incumbent Christopher Stolle.

Askew@2x.png
HD-85: HELD

Delegate-elect Alex Askew defeated GOP candidate Rocky Holcomb.

Mugler@2x.png
HD-91: FLIPPED

Delegate-elect Martha Mugler defeated GOP candidate Colleen Holcomb.

Simonds@2x.png
HD-94: FLIPPED

Delegate-elect Shelly Simonds defeated GOP incumbent Delegate David Yancey.

Hernandez@2x.png
HD-100: LOST

Phil Hernandez lost to GOP incumbent Delegate Rob Bloxom Jr.